Greater Cairo Metro

The Greater Cairo Metro is the first underground in Africa and the Arab World, it is considered among the most technologically advanced mass transit system in the world. One of the main advantages of this giant project is facilitating the traffic and reducing the roads’ accidents.

Line 1

It forms the backbone of the metro network in Greater Cairo as it passes through the most density population districts. The line was established by linking the Helwan railway line at the South with El Marg railway line at the North East of Cairo through a tunnel crossing under the Downtown. The Total length of the line is 44Km includes 34 stations. The length of the underground section is 4.5Km including 5 underground stations.The Project started in 1982  and completed in 1989.

Line was designed to transport 60,000 passenger/hour with a frequency of 2.5minutes and a maximum speed of 100Km/hour.

The underground station and the tunnel was constructed by using the open cut method, through the use of Diaphragm Walls for excavation sides shoring to be part of the structure with the raft and foundation. A grouted plug was used between the diaphragm walls to reduce the permeability of the soil without affecting the level of the groundwater outside the walls and to ensure the stability of the adjacent buildings.

The project was executed by a joint venture of 7 French companies and the Arab Contractors headed by Interinfera.

Below is a list of works executed by the Arab Contractors Company:

- The civil work for a main tunnel with a total length of 681m in the part between El Sayeda Zeinab and Saad Zaghloul stations a part of the tunnel is295 m length, it is a U shape open cut with a width ranging from 12,15,21m and the walls are either casted in site or diaphragms.

- The remaining part of the tunnel is of a box shape with a width ranging from 8.86 meters to 12 meters, its walls are precast.

Utilities diversion for water and sewerage networks,electricity cables, telephone line and gas pipes which encountered the Metro path.

- Removing all structures and buildings which obstructed the tunnel path from Ramses station to the El Sayeda Zeinab station.

-Construction of a high voltage station and testing transformers building in Torra.

- Construction of washing station equipped with the necessary sets to wash the mobile units in Helwan.

- Construction of4 electric powers stations distributed equally along the tunnel to provide the electrical power required for operation.

- Construction of 3 cooling stations to adapt the temperature inside the tunnel.

Value: 14,176,431 EGP.

Line 2

It extends from Shoubra El Kheima Station in El Qalioupia Governorate to Dawahi El Giza Station in Giza Governorate with a total length of 19 km and 18 stations. The line has 2 interchange stations with Line at Mubarak and Sadat stations. The Line includes 6Km of at-grade and viaduct section with at-grade stations, cut and cover tunnels with a length of 9.5km and 10 underground stations besides 2 interchange stations. On 2005, the metro extends to the south with a length of 2.60km. This included the construction of two at-grade stations: Sakiat-Mekky and El-Monib.

Tunnel boring machines were used for the deep foundation to the construction of the underground part with an internal diameter 9.43m using precast reinforced concrete with 40cm thickness and 1.5m width. For the first time the River Nile was crossed by a TBM underneath the Nile’s branches in El Gezira area which is the location of Opera station.

Line 2 was designed to transport 45.000 passenger/hour,maximum speed of 100 Km/hour and a frequency of 105 minutes. The operation of the line from Shoubra El Kheima to Dawahi El Giza was divided into phases completed in October 2000.


Line 3

It is a horizontal axis linking East and West of Cairo with a total length of 48km approximately from Imbaba west of the Nile crossing under the River Nile to El Zamalek then Attaba - Abbassia to Cairo International Airport to transport more than 2 million passenger/day with a total cost 97billion EGP.

Phase 1:

It is an underground line with 5km length and 9m diameter,linking the maintenance workshops with abbassia; it passes through  5 stations… starting from Abbassia, Abdou Pasha, Bab El Shaaria till Attaba station which considered a connection between the second and third lines.

The Arab Contractors Company implemented the civil works,finishing, electromechanical installation works in partnership with the biggest French companies Vinci, Bouygues, Colas Rail, Alstom and the Egyptian company Orascom.

Phase 2:

It extends from Abbassia to Ahram station in Heliopolis and includes 4 underground stations: Cairo Fair, El Estad, Koliyet El Banat and Al Ahram.

It serves 700000/day; its total cost reached 3.9 billion EGP. It contributes in facilitating traffic and easing traffic jams in Abbassia and Heliopolis.

It is implemented by the joint venture of Vinci, the Arab Contractors Company and Orascom.

Phase 3:

It is divided into 3 parts.

The first part with a total length 4km from Attaba to El Kit Kat; it includes 4 underground stations: Gamal Abdel Nasser – Maspero – ElZamalek – El Kit Kat; it is scheduled to be inaugurated on December 2021.

The second part: 6.6km length; extends from El Kit Kat to the interchange station at Rod El Farag Axis. It includes 6 stations (a ground station: El Sudan, 4 higher stations: Imbaba - El Bohy – El Qawmia El Arabia and the Ring Road, at-grade station: the interchange station at Rod El Farag Axis.It is scheduled to be inaugurated on June 2022.

The third part: 7.1km length; extends from El Kit Kat to Cairo University station. It includes 5 stations (3 ground station: El Tawfikia– Wadi El Nile – Gameat El Dewal, a higher stations: Cairo University, at-grade station: Boulak El Dakrour. It is scheduled to be inaugurated on April 2023.

Phase 4:

Its total length is 18.15km, it includes 14 stations: Haroun– Heliopolis – Alf Maskn – Nadi El Shams – El Nozha1 – El Nozha2 – Qebaa – Omar ibn El Khatab – El Herafeen – Adly Mansour – El Hijaz Square – El Koliya El Harbia – Masaken Sheraton – Cairo Airport.

It is divided into 3 parts:

4A: it is 5.15km, extends from Haroun to El Nozha1 and it includes 5 underground stations: Haroun - Heliopolis Square – Alf Maskn – Nadi El Shams – El Nozha1.

4B: it is 6.37, extends from El Nozha2 till the interchange station of Adly Mansour in El Asher bus station. It includes 5 underground stations: El Nozha2 – Qebaa – Omar ibn El Khatab – El Herafeen – interchange station of Adly Mansour in El Asher bus station.

4C: it is 6.65km, extends from Haroun to Cairo Airport and it includes 4 underground stations: El Hijaz Square – El Koliya El Harbia – Masaken Sheraton – Cairo Airport.The construction and mobilization cost without the mobile units for 4A reached 4.345 billion EGP, the cost of 4B is 365.4 billion EGP and the total cost for 4C reached 9.4 billion EGP.